Chartered February 1, 1965

Plans for organization of a new Rotary Club in Southwest Dallas County were formulated in March 1964. Direction for this action came from Jack F. Gibson, Governor of Rotary District 5810, to officials of the Oak Cliff Rotary Club.

The South Dallas Rotary Club charter was approved by Rotary International effective February 1, 1965. Over the life span of what is now the DeSoto Rotary Club there have been changes in meeting places as well as of club names. The first name change for the club occurred September 28, 1971, when Rotary International approved the renaming of the South Dallas Rotary Club to Dallas Red Bird Rotary Club.

Over a ten year period the club’s membership became predominately DeSoto businessmen.  The organization of a new Rotary Club in Duncanville in 1983 became the catalyst for another name change and subsequent relocation of the club meeting place. Effective January 28, 1984, Rotary International approved the new name of the Rotary Club of DeSoto.

The club’s membership has generally ranged from 30 to 40 members and current membership includes 40 Rotarians whose professions and businesses represent much of the diversity in the business community. An all male club until 1989, the DeSoto Rotary Club inducted Janet Stanton, Attorney, as its first lady Rotarian.